Skip navigation

http://www.elsewhere.org/pomo/

I have been meaning to add this in here for the longest time. If you ask me, this is one of the greatest things ever made! Every time you refresh the page the pomo text generator will create you a grammatically accurate text, which reads like an academic paper (comes complete with references!) – until you look closer and realize it is all non-sense! Somewhat similar (and probably inspired by) the Sokal Affair, although Alan Sokal wrote it himself back then, of course.

The hilarious (and oh so sadly accurate) commentary which Larios makes upon academic writing aside – text generators! Now, why do people not make more of them, I wonder? Murat and I looked for one, which he needed for a project of his, something which would generate a tale/narrative/text based upon keyword input and we couldn’t find a thing!

Am I dropping a hint, students? You bet I am! Anyone interested? The Dada Engine is the thing that Josh Larios used for the pomo generator. Here’s the link:
http://dev.null.org/dadaengine/

